Don’t Like Your Job? Go AWOL

Bob_Skin_Art_1Bob’s an old guy who lives in my neighborhood. He’s got what he calls skin art on his left arm, a faded mermaid he met in San Diego.

Bob rolled up his sleeve because I asked him if he was in the Navy. I asked Bob if he was in the Navy because of his language. I like Bob. You’d like him, too.

Bob joined the Navy during the Korean War. Assigned to a ship transporting caskets back to the States, Bob vowed he would not spend the war on a floating hearse.

So Bob went AWOL for five days and 12 hours.

Bob’s punishment: four weeks in the brig, then put on a destroyer and he got to see the world. Bob got exactly what he wanted.

What do you want? Or more specifically, what do you want to change? Are you willing to go AWOL to get it? AWOL doesn’t have to be Absent Without Official Leave.  For you it could be A Work Of Love or Acting Without Limits (this is becoming far more *new agey* than I planned). There’s no guarantee you’ll get what you want and you may not like what you get, but you might get a change.

About Robert Moss

I write ads: traditional, non-traditional, interactive, edutainment, story-based, broadcast, and experiential marketing events. Sometimes I write about ads and the business of advertising. Sometimes I write about other stuff. The views expressed here are solely my own and don't reflect the views of my employers. I also published a novel called Descending Memphis that's getting great reviews on Amazon. see http://www.amazon.com/Descending-Memphis-Robert-R-Moss/dp/0692364226
This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

