What boxing gave me, one year in

Rob Speed Bag

For more than a year, my workout combined shadow boxing, heavy bag-, speed bag-, double end bag-work, and sparring. My coach also pushed me to do core exercises, like use my stomach muscles to push a medicine ball up the corner of a ring. Or from the same position, I’d toss a medicine ball up so it bounces off the corner and crashes down on my belly.

During this time I got a few black eyes. Literally and figuratively. I’ve also had some great success in my life outside of boxing. Boxing made me look at myself in a different way and make changes—changes I like. I’ll keep doing it. What are you doing?

About Robert Moss

I write ads: traditional, non-traditional, interactive, edutainment, story-based, broadcast, and experiential marketing events. Sometimes I write about ads and the business of advertising. Sometimes I write about other stuff. The views expressed here are solely my own and don't reflect the views of my employers. I also published a novel called Descending Memphis that's getting great reviews on Amazon. see http://www.amazon.com/Descending-Memphis-Robert-R-Moss/dp/0692364226
This entry was posted in Everything I need I learned in woodshop and P.E., Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What boxing gave me, one year in

  1. Gil says:

    Congrats on your boxing journey, mate. I have been doing boxing workouts steady for over a year and a half and I will never do any other type of workout again. The intensity, coupled with the nostalgia can’t be matched by any so-called “modern day” workout.

Leave a Reply

