How to lose my business in 3 easy steps

  1. Turn your customer service center into a profit center.
  2. Equip your customer service reps with a script that makes it near impossible to get a straight, yes or no answer.
  3. Incentivize your customer service reps through commissions earned by upselling current customers.

Congratulations! You’ve lost my business.

Step three is a great way to lose me as a customer when I’m dissatisfied with your present level of service.

Bonus: How to earn back my business.

Quickly offer a sincere apology and a promise to make good after I fill out your customer satisfaction survey and explain the above to you in the comment section.

All this seems pretty obvious, but this is exactly how a company I’ve paid an annual fee for years lost me as a customer.

—-

Photo courtesy of vilma.com

About Robert Moss

I write ads: traditional, non-traditional, interactive, edutainment, story-based, broadcast, and experiential marketing events. Sometimes I write about ads and the business of advertising. Sometimes I write about other stuff. The views expressed here are solely my own and don't reflect the views of my employers. I also published a novel called Descending Memphis that's getting great reviews on Amazon. see http://www.amazon.com/Descending-Memphis-Robert-R-Moss/dp/0692364226
This entry was posted in Branding, Everything I need I learned in woodshop and P.E., Public Relations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

